Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips.

By submitting this request, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Reviews

 

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • December 2018

    “Life is all about experiences and the Condor trip validates that philosophy. There are two distinct memories that we will cherish forever.
    First would be the overwhelming natural beauty of Patagonia – Torres Del Paine & Monte Fitz Roy .
    Second is the Guides. They are exceptional and genuinely love what they do. It shows in their interaction with people and nature. They go above and beyond and take care of every little detail to make it easy on you both mentally and physically. Their warmth and hospitality will win you over and that is something that will remain forever in our memories.

    One tip to future hikers is to make sure they are physically fit to endure the “Patagonian Flats” , this is not a relaxing vacation. It makes you work hard and rewards you with sights of jaw dropping natural beauty.”
    Satyaki Mohan Ray – Michigan, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Best Guides Ever!

    “Super engaged, friendly, and knowledgeable guides took us through spectacular mountain and glacier scenery and made the Condor trip an unforgettable visit to Patagonia!”
    Erika Kosina – California, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Awesome Experience

    “No matter how many photos I've seen of Patagonia online, being able to see it with my own eyes still took my breath away.”
    Vivian Gao – California, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Brain and Brawn

    “Had a great time hiking up and up and up and learning about the Maori culture.”
    Catherine Hatton – Ontario, CanadaKauri, January 2019
  • New Zealand Fiordland Sojourn

    “The perfect getaway. Superb vistas. Excellent guides. Seamless organisation. Wonderful, healthy! food. Flexible itinerary for different fitness levels.”
    Edna Hardeman – New South Wales, AustraliaManuka, January 2019
  • RIMU North - Christmas 2018

    “I have been fortunate to do a few adventure vacations around the world with different tour companies, and I will say that this was the best of them all. The itinerary included so many amazing places, one after another. Our guides (Dani and Ruby), were equally amazing in that they made the excursion feel like a "family" vacation in that they helped our group integrate and share the adventure together. They did a great job immersing themselves into our group, experiencing the whole thing with us while doing all of the leg work (okay, we had to hike ourselves), for us in regards to planning, getting us where we needed to be, and feeding us great food. I learned so much about the wonderful country of New Zealand, its people, history, plant life, wildlife, and more from Dani and Ruby. My appreciation for New Zealand has definitely grown. We did the 3-day hike has our option on the tour. It was a tough trek but well worth it. I enjoyed the mix of trekking, biking, and kayaking. I felt safe and well organized throughout the entire trip. I would not have changed a thing.”
    Brian McNeil – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Incredible Guides, Landscapes & Activities

    “Our trip with Active Adventures was phenomenal! Every detail was taken care of, yet still flexible to our needs. New Zealand is a stunning country with so much to do and see, and the guides were so knowledgable about the history, environment and culture. I'd recommend traveling with Active Adventures to anyone!”
    Kari Madden – Arizona, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • December 2018

    “The trip definitely packs in tons of adventure. Saw so many things within such a short time period. In just one day, went from glaciers and mountains to rugged beaches. Every day was a new surprise.”
    Beth Rosenstein – Maryland, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Phenomenal trip!

    “Beautiful nature, fantastic guides, great group and activities!”
    Alexia Dorozynski – , Russian FederationRimu, January 2019
  • Rod

    “Our family of four took a 10 day trip in the Galapagos. Going with a tour company ensures all details are taken care of so you get to just enjoy what’s at hand. Travel can be quite challenging as the elements of mother nature is always around you. Bring your adventurous attitude and let your guides show you what you have wanted to see all your life.”
    Rod Fong – British Columbia, CanadaTortuga, January 2019
  • Everyone Needs a Little Zeal!

    “The guides with Active Adventures, New Zealand lead you through the heart and soul of New Zealand. Every day we were introduced to outstanding scenery, challenging but do-able hikes, bike rides, and kayaking. Food was thoughtfully prepared or provided, and needs were always anticipated. But this trip was beyond the basics of good food and good scenery. The vitality, the kick-ass, can-do, always smiling, leaders reminded us and re-introduced us to the art of having fun. I am grateful for the experience and will forever translate their Zealand spirit in my day to day living. This trip was more than a vacation, more than a sightseeing trip. In the beauty of nature and in the beauty of the leaders, sharing their honest selves, I re-acquainted myself with myself and things that I hold value and I will always be grateful. Tricia, Atlanta, Georgia”
    Tricia Stearns – Georgia, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Ultimate NZ Takahe Experience

    “It is impossible to effectively convey the impact of the Takahe (NZ) trip. Cruise Doubtful and Milford Sounds, trekking along sections of the Routburn, Milford and Kepler tracks and all in perfect weather. Knowledgeable guides made it a spectacular and informative trip. Now I understand why this region of NZ is regarded as one of the best trekking adventures in the world. No question!! ”
    Peter Gunning – New South Wales, AustraliaManuka, January 2019
  • Packed In All The Highlights Of Peru And Galapagos

    “This trip was exactly what we hoped for - packed with gorgeous views, amazing history, beautiful handcrafts and lots of time being out in the beautiful landscapes. Our time in the Galapagos was equally magnificent - we swam with turtles and sharks, saw many unique birds and enjoyed the unique culture on 3 separate islands. The guide were incredibly knowledgeable and skilled at managing the group. We were thrilled with this second trip with Active after a wonderful time in New Zealand last year.”
    Audrey Wennink – Illinois, United StatesIguana, January 2019
  • Awesome Peruvian Adventure!

    “Every detail was taken care of from the lodging in Cusco, ground transportation to/from the airport and sites, meals, there wasn't anything I needed to worry about other than to show up and have fun. The first couple of days in Cusco was perfect to get acclimated and familiar with the area. Wilson was great in answering any questions we had and making sure we were taken care of. Johan was our guide on the Inca Trail part of the trip, and I was very impressed with him! He wore so many hats and was extremely knowledgable not only about all the historical sites but also the plant life, animals, and all the history of the Incas and the trail. He knew when to give us the space to enjoy the hike and scenery and when to show us something of interest. He even went out of his way to tell other visitors when they were doing something wrong, like sitting on top of stone walls of the ruins. You could tell he was passionate about these historical sites and preservation of them so future generations could enjoy them. ”
    Khem Suthiwan – Colorado, United StatesJaguar, January 2019
  • A Trip of My Lifetime.

    “This was an excellent trip, above my high expectation, probably the best outdoors trip of my life (and I've done a lot). Super cool, professional, patient, knowledgeable, accomodating guides, Lauren and Hailey - I can not overstate how well they did their jobs. Beautiful and diverse country, fantastic scenery, excellent itinerary.”
    Mike Tsoupko-Sitnikov – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Great Introduction to Lake Titicaca

    “Although it was just a short trip down to Puno and Lake Titicaca, it was a great way to see the area and visit some of the islands.”
    Khem Suthiwan – Colorado, United StatesChinchilla, January 2019
  • Wonderful Trip

    “We really enjoyed all the activity during the tour. The tour has a very nice pace to it. We cover a lot of ground and the guides are great and making stops along the way to experience a beautiful short hike or learn about Manuka Honey. We really liked the layout of the tour. One day we would go hiking and the next we would go kayaking. If we had a big hike one day, the next day would still be action packed but gave us time to recover. We can't wait to go on our next active adventure.”
    Kellie Bertsch Cereola – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Josh and Annika.

    “Josh and Annika were absolutely fantastic. Everything about the trip was great, but the two of them were the glue that brought all of the constituent parts together. ”
    Joseph Hewett – California, United StatesKauri, January 2019
  • So Glad I Went!

    “I went as a solo traveler, and was worried about being isolated. But it turned out there were other solo travelers, and the group as a whole really came together.
    I am an avid kayaker, and one of the days of kayaking in Marlborough Sound may have been my best kayaking day ever. It was early in the morning, and the water was like glass. There were mountains in the distance and not a cloud in the sky. Just perfect!”
    Carole Gibson – North Carolina, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Jaguar

    “Amazing trip to a very colorful country. Enjoyed the whole trip”
    Krista Saunders – Ontario, CanadaJaguar, January 2019
  • Galapagos Tortuga

    “Amazing unique area of the world. Being greeted by a sea lions on arrival who made his way through our meeting was a fantastic way to start the program. The the time spent on the land and sea were well balanced out”
    Krista Saunders – Ontario, CanadaTortuga, January 2019
  • Rimu Dec 17-30/18

    “Fantastic trip! The sites, scenery and activities were all amazing. Packed two weeks but there was no way to see and do so much on our own. Our guides Dani and Ruby were second to none! They both made the trip extra special !”
    Phil Goldband – Ontario, CanadaRimu, January 2019
  • Tui trip 12/24 to 12/31/2018

    “The trip was amazing. We covered an incredible amount of terrain in the South Island in only a week! We did drive quite a bit but it was a perfect time to enjoy the beautiful NZ scenery and rest for the next outdoor adventure. The one day rest stop at Queenstown was perfect. Wonderful, fun and tourist friendly town and it gave us a chance to physically recover for the next phase of the trip. Terrific trip.”
    Dave Yee – Washington, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • December 2018

    “We had a fun, exciting, wonderful trip of a lifetime! We did not want to be driven around on a bus with old people, and this sure was nothing like that! It also was manageable for those of us who wanted to be outdoors and active, but are not military buff. Erick was very accommodating about adjusting the trip activities to fit our abilities, and he was fast thinking, capable and resourceful about getting help when I got in trouble with altitude sickness and its effects. He and Pablo were both enthusiastic, fun and engaging guides. They both took us to a wonderful variety of great restaurants with fabulous food throughout the trip.”
    Amy Lauterbach Pokorny – New York, United StatesIguana, January 2019
  • Condor December 2018

    “Amazing trip. Cahit was a great tour guide -- always smiling and positive and he made sure we had a great experience!!! The hike and the refugios on the W Trek were amazing during the first week. I thought there was no way the second week could be better but the scenery of Mount Fitzroy and the area around El Chalten were even better. Don't miss out on southern Patagonia!!!”
    Sara Crawford – Nevada, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Tui - What a trip!

    “From the moment we met our guides Hailey and Ruby we felt completely welcome and cared for. Within 10 minutes our group of 10 strangers quickly became close friends, I've never seen anything quite like that before, and our guides played no small part in making that happen. The journey and activities were all fun, accommodations ranged from terrific to rustic but pretty much the best available for our locations. We never went hungry and most of the time, whether prepared by Hailey and/or Ruby, or by others, the food was excellent. In the end no one wanted the trip to end and even saw a few tears as each person or couple was dropped off, truly a trip of a lifetime!”
    Ken Hill – Texas, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • My Kiwi October, 2018 trip

    “Once Again...another Active Adventure trip that exceeded my expectations. I had a wonderful time with Maddi, Jackie and our group. We started out as strangers and became friends.
    I had to miss the trip in February due to breaking my foot, so I worried that I would not be able to keep up, but Jackie and Maddi were
    so compassionate and kind to my needs, that I kept up with the group with no problem.
    I look forward to another Active Adventure trip in the future. ”
    Kathleen Bowser – Ontario, CanadaKiwi, January 2019
  • Could It Get Any Better?

    “Fun and adventure beyond what I could have imagined. The captivating beauty of New Zealand, experienced in daily full monty submersion of diverse and amazing activities. Josh and Annika trumped and spoiled us with 5-star animated full-service aim-to-exceed (not just please) - as our guides, educators, facilitators, supporters, and friends. Entirely gobsmacked beyond testimony, this was far and away the very best trip I have ever had. Who can know or anticipate how rewarding and life-changing a trip and travel itinerary like this will be until you've lived it?”
    Karen Klix – Michigan, United StatesKauri, January 2019
  • Kauri October 2018

    “I so really enjoyed the Kiwi trip, but the Kauri trip taken right after, took it up another notch in hiking, scenery and the energy of this fun group of new friends. The hikes we did over the 5 day challenged me, which I was so ready for. I didn't think the scenery could get any better than the south Island, but not to be disappointed, the North Island was so beautiful too. ”
    Kathleen Bowser – Ontario, CanadaKauri, January 2019
  • Patagonia Condor

    “Everything was incredible - couldn't have been more perfect!”
    Jay Phillips – Alabama, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Fantastic Trip

    “The Condor trip includes two very beautiful national parks, and a good amount of challenging hiking. It was a very active trip in a beautiful setting.”
    Jeff Pekrul – California, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Andean Adventure

    “The Alpaca trip was a wonderful hiking-oriented adventure in the Peruvian Andes with exceptional guides (Mayra from Active and Lichi from partner Andean Lodges). Machu Picchu is beautiful but the standout was our 3-day trek in Ausangate. Just watch out for the altitude sickness if you don't have prior experience this high up.”
    Lucas Wood – Maryland, United StatesAlpaca, January 2019
  • Amazing In-Depth Experience of Sacred Valley, Ausangate, Macchu Picchu

    “This was an amazing trip that offered cultural depth and access to some of the most beautiful parts of the Sacred Valley, Macchu Picchu and Ausangate with some challenging and beautiful hikes. The lodge-to-lodge experience was beyond compare - we didn't see a single non-Andean person along our our three-day hike (until we passed the Rainbow Mountain) and the lodge services (cooking, house-cleaning) were performed by people from local villages, which really added a special flair (not to mention the delicious, authentic Andean foods our wonderful cook, Hernan, made for us!!). The fact that llamas carried our things from lodge to lodge was also very cool. Everything was extremely well-organized and seamless on this adventure, thanks mainly to our tremendous guide, Mayra, whose in-depth knowledge of local experiences (and the locals of the many towns we stopped in) as well as great food/restaurantms made our trip absolutely amazing. I was truly impressed when Mayra came up with an alternative set of activities for a day when my husband was too sick to hike - those activities proved to be some of the highlights of the trip. Overall, I could not recommend this Active Adventures trip enough!! Fabulous!”
    Rebecca Sheehan – Maryland, United StatesAlpaca, January 2019
  • Fabulous Adventure

    “Patagonia exceeded our expectations and this was not only due to the magnificent scenery but the detailed planning of Active Adventures and our local guides - Gustavo, Cem, Felipe, Machi, and Paola. I think that our whole group agreed that we would follow our guides anywhere! Our group ranged in age from 20 to 70 and they empowered and encouraged us all to walk at our own pace, appreciate the beauty that surrounded us and have joy in the adventure. We feel privileged to have met our guides who clearly love their jobs and taught us all to embrace Patagonia, take care of the environment, and live in the present. This will not be the last trip we take with Active Adventures.”
    Mary Karen Vellines – North Carolina, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • South Island Adventure

    “You certainly justify the "Active" in your name! Between the hiking, jet boats!, planes, cruising and biking, we did more and saw more than I thought could be fit into 8 days - and there was still free time for hang gliding, bungee jumping and patio therapy :). Jo and Andy were the perfect team of guides, bringing fun and a wealth of local knowledge that made the excursions that much more memorable. The memories of this trip will last a long time. ”
    Chris Coggans – Ontario, CanadaTui, January 2019
  • Slice of Heaven

    “The Rimu trip with Astrid and Pim as truly a Slice of Heaven (as the songs states) :) Everything was perfect: our guides (knowledgeable, fun and interesting people), the itinerary (flexible and versatile), the food (healthy and plenty of it), transportation (although I did like Kate better then Frank - sorry Astrid - more leg room)….I would do it again in a heartbeat!!! We have already told many friends about New Zealand and Active Adventures (and wear our ball caps proudly :)”
    Leah Bornstein – Colorado, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • December 2018

    “Spectacular. Mother Nature is a beast. Breathtaking. Humbling.
    Great guides, great weather, great experience. Should have been
    a bucket list item for a lot longer. So happy to have done this trip.”
    John Gallant – Massachusetts, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Adventure of Lifetime!

    “We knew NZ would be beautiful but the trip that Active Adventures gave us was amazing. Lauren and Kaleb were wonderful and we truly had the adventure of a lifetime!”
    Jackie Roach – Texas, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Epic!

    “Machu Picchu has always been my dream destination for years. I really enjoyed all the activities throughout this trip. Active and the local guides definitely spent a lot of effort in setting out this trip. I very much appreciate all the support and guidance.”
    Bingli Mo – California, United StatesJaguar, January 2019
  • A Lush Wonderland

    “We were only with the trip for 2 days and the weather was inclement, but Koru and Laura worked professionally to ensure we still had an amazing time in Mt Aspiring national park and central Otago and still got in some adventure and good hikes.”
    Fe Davies – Otago, New ZealandTui, January 2019
  • A Trip That Will Not Be Rimu-ved From Memory

    “It was my first time visiting NZ and what an experience! Truly enjoyed the scenery and wonderful company of the group. The trip would not have been complete without the intriguing story telling by MJ of each place we went and the interesting information shared about NZ's nature by both guides during the hikes. Very well-organized, well thought out and personally, well-fed trip. Only wished that I would have been able to Kayak further out at Milford sound and hiked further all the way to Alex's Knob. Overall, thank you to MJ and Liana for helping to create a very memorable first visit to NZ!”
    Rachael Li Xiujing – , SingaporeRimu, January 2019
  • Great Way to See New Zealand Beauty

    “Very good way to experience 4tracks in New Zealand. Well organized.”
    Randy Hoffman – California, United StatesManuka, January 2019
  • Great Trip and Adventure

    “Great trip, well taken care of by Active Adventures, Kuru was a great guide and asset to the team., Shree (Earthbound) was incredibly knowledgeable and was a great asset in negotiations and dealing with the pros and cons of the scheduling and semantics.”
    Al Terestre – Massachusetts, United StatesEBC, January 2019
  • Tortuga Tour: Trip of a Lifetime!

    “The Galapagos Islands has been near the top of my bucket list for about 40 years, so it was important that I had a great experience for my one and only trip there. The Tortuga tour actually exceeded my very high expectations. Galakiwi/Active Adventures have gotten all of the details down to a science. From the duffel we used, to providing all of the equipment (bikes, wet suits, snorkels, flippers, scuba gear, safety vests, kayaks, and more), transfers, hotels, meals, and sights - plus the talented tour leaders, guides, and assistants - this LAND BASED trip was designed to be efficient yet hit all of the highlights. It was both educational and FUN. The small group size made our encounters more personal, and the members of our group all bonded; we were a great fit. Our guide, Pablo, is an AWARD WINNING biologist who (get this!) was the guide for Sir David Attenborough when they were filming in the Galapagos Islands. He was an absolute wealth of knowledge, and he's a native of Isabela Island. We saw all of the landscapes, featuring trees and plants, volcanoes (learned a lot about lava!), birds, reptiles, and all of the marine animals! The Galapagos Islands are a wonderland, a true ecological treasure. I'm so glad we experienced it the Tortuga way.”
    Nell Eakle – Illinois, United StatesTortuga, January 2019
  • TRUELY AN ACTIVE ADVENTURE

    “My husband and I throughly enjoyed our RIMU trip in November 2018. The trip when very smoothly thanks to our friendly and experienced guides Kim and Astrid. Active Adventures provided great accommodations, superb food, and wonderful adventures. A great way to see and experience New Zealand.”
    Bonnie Leaf – Alberta, CanadaRimu, January 2019
  • Great Trip, Great Guides

    “The Kauri trip was well organized and well thought out. We saw a good part of the north island and had many fun adventures. Our guides Jo and Andy were the best. Andy is very informative on New Zealand history and Jo is a great cook.”
    Sarah Gray – Colorado, United StatesKauri, January 2019
  • Unforgettable Experience

    “The Galapagos Tortuga trip was was perfect for us. We moved from island to island with the opportunity to explore land and sea. We learned about each of the islands: their history, the culture of the people, and the plants and animals that only exist on the island as well as the the ones introduced. With all of that we still had lots of opportunity to snorkel, and saw more fish and sea life than we could have imagined. Pepo, our guide answered all of our questions and shared with us the beauty that is the Galapagos. He made sure that we were well prepared for our activities. Having a guide like Pepo that is so passionate about the Galapagos, his home, helped to make the trip unforgettable. Highly recommended!”
    Lori Morgan – Alberta, CanadaTortuga, January 2019
  • Super South Island

    “The Rimu trip was excellent. We had great weather and were able to see a good part of the south island. ”
    Sarah Gray – Colorado, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • RIMU Northbound 10-23 December 2018

    “I thoroughly enjoyed the experience! Our guides, Astrid and Pim, were just great, and they did an especially good job in responding to changing circumstances due to weather or other contingencies. I had travelled by car through the South Island 15 years ago but did not have the opportunity to hike, kayak or just 'get into the wild'. The RIMU tour provided a smorgasbord of activities and spectacular surrounds, and being able to hike, bike ride, kayak and horse ride all on the same tour was a unique experience. I can now return the South Island at some state in the future to go on more extensive hiking or kayaking tours in such magnificent locations as Milford Sound. ”
    Rob Bruce Webster – New South Wales, AustraliaRimu, January 2019
  • Fantastic Way to See Patagonia

    “My husband thoroughly enjoyed The Condor trip we took with Active Adventures-South America. This is our 2nd AA trip (first was The Jaguar) and we still highly recommend traveling with them. We were both rapidly approaching 61 when we made the trip and were hopeful that we would be able to complete all the activities. We did just fine but there were some challenging portions that made us very glad that we had worked out as much as we did prior to the trip. The trip was well organized and we not only saw beautiful sights and learned a lot of history, we enjoyed getting to know our fantastic guides. Cahit was a fantastic leader and we loved his stories and great sense of humor. He was energetic and intelligent and made everything enjoyable! Anna (W Trek guide) was also great and did a fantastic job of explaining the geography of the area. She was tons of fun and her coffee got us going each morning!!! Local guides Juan, Luis and Maya (?) we also wonderful. The hikes are tough but the sights at the end of each day are SO worth the effort!”
    Erin Dodson – Idaho, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • It Just Keeps Getting Better!

    “This is our second trip with Active Adventures and we're already considering a third. Can't say enough about how well the trips come together. The guides are very personable, professional and organized. The trips, while very active, provide just the right level of activity and recuperation time to make the adventures very enjoyable.”
    Layne Dodson – Idaho, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • Machu Picchu Baby

    “We feel lucky to have discovered Active Adventures as our Jaguar trip was outstanding. We have prior done some pretty adventurous trips, many self booked/arranged, and were looking for a true complete package and Active Adventures absolutely impressed. The pre-trip material was high quality and ensured we were prepared. We were extremely impressed with the accomodations, to include the camp setup made possible by the superb porters (fresh popcorn and camp seats at midday hike breaks!) and a ready campsite with dining tent, table and chairs *and* a toilet tent! Our guide, Erick, was quite personable, extremely knowledgeable, and made certain everything was in order (amazing meals at restaurants in Cusco, porters, permits, campsites, etc). The only downside to the trip was the heat and humidity in the jungle (we knew it was summer, but coming from Cusco it was a bear) that we couldn’t escape due to the lodge not having air conditioning or even room fans (power via generator only during limited hours), though seeing the wild animals was pretty neat. Add to it all our travel buddies, on our same tour, are amazing people who we are already talking with about touring Patagonia together!”
    Lee Schoeppner – Nevada, United StatesJaguar, December 2018
  • Peru 10 Day JAGUAR

    “Highly recommend this tour and our guide, Eric! The guide book and packing list, provided by Active Adventures, were perfect tools to prepare. Cusco and and the 4 day trek on the Inca trail were great. The camping experience was way better than I had expected!!! The porters are such hard workers and made sure our tents were all set before we arrived to each campsite. We had a chef who made delicious meals. A very clean toliet set up for us to use. After Machu Picchu, we went to the Amazon. It was hot and moist. Seeing wild animals and having drinks at the bar were great! I would just would recommend having fans in the rooms.
    Overall, fantastic experience! We already plan to book a tour in Patagonia with Active Adventures! ”
    Zuly Schoeppner – Nevada, United StatesJaguar, December 2018
  • Truly a Trip of a Lifetime!

    “I have been wanting to go to the Galapagos for more than 20 years and finally had the opportunity after retiring. Though retired I wanted to be very active and this was the perfect fit! I hiked, biked, boated, snorkeled, scuba dived and still had time to take a nap in a hammock on my veranda overlooking the water. Our guide Pablo was fantastic, he was informative, passionate about the Islands and the conservation work being done there but also wanting each of us to love our planet. He made sure to help us see whatever we had on our individual bucket lists. The accommodations were wonderful and the food was awesome! I hated to leave.”
    PJ Nielsen – California, United StatesTortuga, December 2018
  • Penguins and Torres and Glaciers...Oh My!!!

    “The scenery was magnificent with each day presenting a new and remarkable treat for the mind, body and soul. Our guide Cynthia was terrific. Her passion for the area was infectious and her knowledge, energy, overall fun loving personality put the trip over the top. From day one, our group of 14 travelers and 2 guides meshed together so well that I felt as if I left with as many new close friends from 4 different continents. The adventure was certainly active and physically challenging but was well worth the effort.”
    Cheryl Braitberg – Georgia, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • Just When You Thought it Couldn’t Get Any Better...

    “We have been many places on this planet. We have seen experienced some amazing sites, sounds and cultures but none as spectacular and unique as we marveled at on our Tortuga trip. From our first encounter with sea lions and Blue Footed Boobies on San Cristobal to the giant tortoises on Isabella and Santa Cruz we just couldn’t believe the what all we were getting to encounter and experience. It wasn’t just a sightseeing experience either. The immersion into the history behind these beautiful islands and their history was just an incredible experience. As the title says, just when we thought it couldn’t get any better it would. Our guide, Pablo, has passion for his profession like few. His enthusiasm and energy were contagious. There was so much to see and experience that 10 more days would have been welcomed. Nicely done.”
    Todd Young – Missouri, United StatesTortuga, December 2018
  • Tapir Tour, Volcano and Jungle Risks and Rewards

    “We bicycled down Cotopaxi! While there, saw wild horses, llamas, and Ecuadorean fox, a rainbow, and soaring caracara birds (falcons). We rode horses up into the highlands (dressed warmly like gauchos) and stayed at a working hacienda; took an open gondola cable car ride across a gorge & waterfall; stood next to the roaring Devil's Cauldron cataract; rode on the Swing at the End of the World! We hiked into the Amazon rainforest, scaling a series of waterfalls at about a 70 degree angle (or more); we slept in the rainforest; saw an indigenous woman make fibers from plants, as well as pottery from clay harvested from the river (decorated with natural dyes); and saw thieving capuchin monkeys play tricks on shopkeepers in Puerto Misahualli. And then to the luxurious thermal spas of Termas Papallacta!

    Every detail of our trip was perfectly coordinated, and all was always in readiness for our arrivals. The food was delicious and our kind and knowledgeable trip leader, Mauro, became like a family member to us. We actually ate "lemon ants" and also grilled grubs! Why not?! Ecuador is a stunning country, well worth a visit!”
    Nell Eakle – Illinois, United StatesTapir, December 2018
  • Ambassadors of Ecuador and South America.

    “Our guides and hotel staff were perfect ambassadors of Ecuador and South America.
    I didn’t know what to expect even though I had read the itinerary. Many travel outfitter businesses make fantastic claims about what they can deliver, only to fall short. NOT SO with this trip.
    My wife and I came to Ecuador two days early to get acclimated to the altitude. We had made early reservations for the hotel that Active Adventures uses. Active Adventures made our early reservation for us.
    From the moment we were picked up by the EB’s shuttle every detail seemed to fall in place. An extraordinary feeling to have while in another country. The Eb hotel is a very impressive hotel and the staff quickly became like a second family.
    Every day brought something new and exciting. Each morning I was left wondering how our guides could match the day before….and every day I was pleasantly surprised by what we saw, and experienced. I cannot write enough positive things about this trip to Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands through Active Adventures. My wife and I will surely use Active Adventures for future trips for New Zealand, Nepal, and Patagonia/Antarctica.
    Brad Eakle – Illinois, United StatesTapir, December 2018
  • One of the Most Beautiful Trips Ever!

    “This trip explores one of the most beautiful regions of the world. Each day we were surrounded by snow capped mountains, lakes or fiords. I really enjoyed the variety of landscapes and the and the varied activities we used to explore them. And as always our guides were excellent.”
    Alan Moore – Nova Scotia, CanadaPuma, December 2018
  • One of the Most Incredible Trips of My Life!

    “I had a blast! My group was fantastic, everyone got along, fellow trekkers with many common interest. The guides were incredible and went above and beyond to ensure we had an incredible time. Patagonia is one of the most incredible places I have ever been too, I am glad I went with this tour it allowed me to really see Patagonia and pushed me to hike further than I likely wouldn't on my own.”
    Robert Paladino – California, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • Beautiful Archipelago

    “A great experience and multiple adventures.”
    Carrol Murray – Nebraska, United StatesTortuga, December 2018
  • North of the South

    “This was my first trip to the North Island, though I've been to the South Island once with Active Adventures and once on my own. I thought that this was a great trip, and hit all of the highlights that I expected. We certainly kept moving (Active) through a range of diverse activities, so I wouldn't recommend this trip if your idea of a vacation is to sit on the beach. The trip leaders were outstanding, notably Annika's permanent optimistic and enthusiastic attitude, and Josh's can do spirit. Don't miss the optional SCUBA diving on "A Perfect Day". Surprising an octopus 18 meters down was a highlight of the trip. ”
    Steve Levy – Vermont, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “This trip exceeded my expectations! I was way out of my comfort zone since I am more of a couch surfer. Claire and Maya were excellent guides and supported us all the way and more!
    I highly recommend this trip!”
    Cindy Chua – Texas, United StatesKiwi, December 2018
  • Jim's Rimu Trip

    “Third Active Adventure; South America Patagonia and New Zealand Kauri trip. The planned itineraries, the location of the adventures, and the great guides which we had made the trips top notch. Maybe taking another one sooner than later.”
    Jim Gray – Colorado, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • A Fantastic NZ Experience, There Will Be Others!!

    “I had planned on sending a review of my trip prior to receiving this request. I was so busy telling so many
    people of the super time I had, I never found the time.
    Working in the airline industry, now in my 36th year, I have opportunities to travel that others don't, and I do.
    Have been many places, done many things. This NZ trip ranks near the top of the list, for many reasons.

    The primary reason the trip was so fantastic, Andy, the group leader. As I described my experienced to family, coworkers and friends. There were only 3 of us, (Romy , Chris and myself) I don't know if others had cancelled or whatever, does not matter, as we 3 basically had a private tour.

    I would describe Andy as a person who has a true passion for what he does. His detailed knowledge of the places we visited was quite remarkable. Each day bought a exciting new adventure, exactly what I signed up for. I had so many fun moments on the trip, not possible to list all of them, just know that I am absolutely
    and completely satisfied with the choice I made in selecting A.A. NZ .
    I am planning a return in 2019 or 20, perhaps doing the 2nd half of the trip.

    I met some of you in person, when I was in Queenstown (had a blast there)

    To summarize my trip I will say thank you Andy ! You were a enthusiastic, totally competent, well organized ,
    group leader, who also prepared delicious meals.”
    Bob Carroll – Texas, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • New Zealand lives up to the hype and Active Adventures is the perfect host to show it to you

    “The scenery is spectacular, the locals are so friendly, and Active's itinerary shows it to you in an action packed way!
    Every day we explored this amazing country by hiking a noteworthy trail, paddling the stunning waterways and even biking! Going on this kind of adventure is a great way to get up close and personal with a country and its people.
    Our guides, Leana and MJ, looked after us with great care and good humor. They also fed us well!
    It's no wonder New Zealand tops many folks' Bucket List - it deserves to be up there. And Active Adventures, based in New Zealand, knows the country better than anyones so you truly get an insider's curated adventure. I am well traveled and consider this trip to be a trip of a lifetime!”
    Kit Parks – North Carolina, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Add the North Island if you are already doing the South Island!

    “I had planned to spend an extra week in Queenstown and Christchurch on my own after doing the Rimu on the South Island, but when I found out three of the folks on my original tour were doing the 5 day North island add on, I was happy to find out that Active could fit me in. I'm so glad they did as they sure packed a lot into five days and the North Island is so different than the South! Andy and Jo were superb guides and with our small group, we were able to be nimble and even add in a few more treats!”
    Kit Parks – North Carolina, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • Patagonia Adventure/ Puma

    “The Puma trip exceeded my expectation with regards to the variety of hikes in different locations, landscapes and vegetations. There was a good mixture of strenuous and more relaxed hikes. Although I only have done sea kayaking once before it was very enjoyable. I felt well looked after by the local kayaking guides Active used. Indeed, all the local guides Active used in Argentina and Chile were outstanding. Each had specialized knowledge about the history of the region and local flora & fauna. I am unable to name a favourite as each location had its own unique charm and beauty. All the restaurant we ate in and all hotels we stayed were first class including the accommodation in the most remote area on a peninsula in Chile. Our tour guide Mayra was a master of organization and expert in individualised customer service. She had a solution to any request that was made and beyond. This is my third time travelling with Active and I have never been disappointed.
    Ines Muller / Switzerland

    Ines Muller – Dublin, Ireland (Republic of)Puma, December 2018
  • Beyond Amazing Mont Blanc!

    “This trip was our second time with Active Adventures. The tour du Mont Blanc is one of the most scenic places on earth to hike. Views were spectaculars in all three countries (France, Switzerland and Italy) visited during the tour. Our guides, Jean-Marc, Karinne and Andy, were all great, available, helpful and making sure all of us were enjoying the activities either hiking, biking or kayaking. In a nut shelf, a great trip and wonderful experience.”
    Claire Barrette-Remy – Ontario, CanadaTour du Mont Blanc, December 2018
  • Always Awesome!

    “Just like the previous 6 trips I've taken with Active, it was incredible! ”
    Ally Gaylor – Indiana, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • Condor Adventure

    “our trip with jay on the condor was exceptional. Very well organized, good pace with options to extend hiking on several days, seamless transportation, excellent meals and accomodations. We were amazed by the grandeur and breathtaking beauty of patagonia, and hiking every day( almost) was always filled with new vistas. i have no reservations about recommending this trek!”
    Kim Schurman – Colorado, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • Fantastic Adventure Buffet

    “This trip was perfect for my wife and me. We are both very athletic and have not done any of the world famous New Zealand tracks before. So, getting to hike one day each on the Routeburn Track, Milford Track, Kepler Track, and Ben Lomand, was about as good as it could get for us. In addition, the overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound was spectacular, and occasionally mystical. Our guides, Nick and Lauren were fun to be with and really know New Zealand. Nick drove and was very safe. Lauren was in charge of meals, and the food was consistently excellent. Accommodations excellent. The small group enabled us to feel very comfortable right from the start. ”
    Howard Hoffman – California, United StatesManuka, December 2018
  • December 2018 Trip

    “The trip was outstanding. My goal was to enjoy a sampling of what the South Island had to offer and this trip filled the bill. The boat tours of Doubtful and Milford Sounds were outstanding, as were the day hikes on the Milford, Routeburn and Kepler Tracks. I was incredibly impressed by the quality of the guides. Both Nick and Loren knew their stuff, and were outstanding cooks to boot! They were courteous, organized, safe and very aware of the particular needs of each client. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone with limited time to explore the wonders of the South Island.”
    Alan Burke – Washington, United StatesManuka, December 2018
  • EBC Trek 10/1/2018

    “So glad we chose Active Adventures for the trek to Everest Base Camp. Their guides and porters are the best. Our health and well being was their primary concern. They are very knowledgeable about the geography, history, and culture so we learned a lot along the way. We stayed at the best tea houses and always had en-suite bathrooms where available...a total luxury. Everything was planned in advance so we never had to wait for meals or at tea stops during the trek. The group was small so we had a lot of personalized attention. Pre and post trek we were taken to the best restaurants ever! The food was fantastic! Loved our guides, Kim and Gokul! I would not hesitate to recommend Active Adventures (and have), for the best possible experience. ”
    Slue Railsback – California, United StatesEBC, December 2018
  • My Fifth Active Trip

    “This was my fifth trip with Active and they just keep getting better! Everything ran smoothly (as always) and we could not have had a better time. The weather was perfect and the group was great! I can't wait for my next trip with Active!”
    Mike Verdirame – New York, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • New Zealand Wonderland

    “Our tour took us to the most amazing places. Such diverse landscape. New Zealand gave me a taste of our earth’s natural wonders. I loved every moment. New Zealand seems to do things right. Clean water! Fresh air!”
    Patricia Lynch – New Mexico, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Tui Trip Terrific

    “Our Tui Trip (Nov. 11-18, 2018) was fantastic. We really enjoyed all the hiking and especially, the plane ride, jet boat, & night on the Milford Wanderer. Our guides, Dan S & Pepper, were super: friendly & fun, but also professional & skilled. They drove the bus, cooked many great meals, organized all our activities, & answered all our questions, day after day. We highly recommend this trip.”
    Jim Callison – Georgia, United StatesTui, December 2018
  • Beyond Amazing

    “Let's start with the fact that I am not a huge fan of the outdoors, my type of vacation is typically going to a beach and laying low. However, my husband really wanted to go to N.Z. for his 40th for a bunch of outdoor activities, which he loves to do. Knowing that this was really important to him and being a good wife I said I'd go along even if it was out of my comfort zone. I was excited, yet very nervous about the activities. I have never been more pleasantly surprised in my life!! Not only does N.Z. have the MOST beautiful and amazing scenery, they also have the NICEST people, starting off with our guides! James and Ruby were so fun and incredibly accommodating and great to be around. We also had a great connection with the other members of the group and are already planning a reunion. The guides make sure that every activity you can go at your own pace without a worry, one in the front and the other always with the last person. After every activity, I felt really excited that I had accomplished it and often didn't even notice that it was an exercise because the views are so incredible you actually forget. The food was amazing both made by our guides and in the restaurants. I would HIGHLY recommend this trip to EVERYONE, especially those that think it may not be their "cup of tea". It ended up being my "cup of tea" and then some!”
    Tracy Salter – California, United StatesTui, December 2018
  • Active Adventures New Zealand RIMU

    “We had the best vacation ever! The scenery, activities, food, and our guides were exceptional. From hiking in Nelson Lakes, to kayaking in Milford Sound, to heli hiking on the Franz Joseph glacier, to hiking to Sealy Tarn, and staying at Braemar Station with magnificent views of Mount Cook - every day brought another awe inspiring appreciation of New Zealand.”
    Sheryl Kuo – Pennsylvania, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Acitve Adventures New Zealand Kauri

    “Our Kauri trip was a wonderful adventure as a 5 day add on to our RIMU trip.”
    Sheryl Kuo – Pennsylvania, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • Fun Time!

    “I had a fantastic time! Laura and Hailey were excellent guides, cooks, drivers and entertainers! Fun hikes, a great bike ride and several kayaking adventures added to make the trip worthwhile!! ”
    Helen Robinson – Oregon, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Amazing guides - Outstanding Adventure

    “We just completed the 14 day Rimu trip and it was incredible! Each day was somehow more amazing than the day before. We were so impressed with our guide’s passion for the outdoors, knowledge of the flora and fauna of New Zealand as well as the never ended support and five-star hospitality provided. The physical challenge was a perfect flow for me, and the sense of accomplishment when reaching our goal look-outs was a real high. The variety of great food and accommodations added to the adventure. Saving the best for last - the scenery was outstanding. The west coast in particular is gorgeous and Fiordland and Mt. Cook are staggering. ”
    Amy Youngs – Virginia, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Manuka Trip 2018

    “Great trip! We lucked out with the weather. We had one afternoon of rain the whole trip. We had a great time. Nick B and Lauren were exceptional guides. They make a great team. ”
    Kirk Girard – Ontario, CanadaManuka, December 2018
  • Beyond my Wildest Dreams!

    “Jackie and Pepper made this the trip of a lifetime. FABULOUS guides!

    This was the perfect way to see the South Island of New Zealand up close and personal. I learned a lot and got plenty of excercise. Somehow they struck exactly the right balance between activities and relaxation.

    For people who like excercise and the outdoors this is the perfect way to experience the unspoiled and breathtaking beauty of the South Island!”
    Bob Chortek – California, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Best Guides Ever

    “Nick and Lauren took care of every detail for our small group of 9. Their easygoing Kiwi personalities made for great teamwork. With Nick at the wheel and Lauren handling chef duties, we were in good hands always. The group was allowed flexibility so that stronger hikers could press on while others could meander and take a slower pace without feeling like they were holding up the group. They were also knowledgeable regarding flora, fauna, and all things New Zealand. Great memories thanks in large part to two great guides.
    John Hearne – Hawaii, United StatesManuka, December 2018
  • Far Exceeded My Expectations

    “Our Patagonia trip with Active Adventures far exceeded my expectations. Part of what made our trip amazing was our luck with the weather. We prepared for cold temps, rain, high wind and we were shocked with beautiful blue skies and only a few days of cool weather.
    The organization of trip by Active Adventures couldn't have been better and always was smooth. The trip we chose hit all of the major highlights of Patagonia such as hiking the W, seeing the penguins, viewing the glaciers at Lago Grey then crossing into Argentina to stay in Calafate and El Chatlen to hike.
    Our guide Gem in Patagonia was also amazing. Active Adventures couldn't have found a better guide. Gem always had a smile on his face, always had a joke of sometimes and really got along with every personality type in our group.
    I'd book again with Active Adventures and would highly recommend them to anyone wanting to travel to Patagonia.”
    Kraig Sederquist – California, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • Awesome Guides + Awesome Scenery=Totaly Awesome Trip

    “Superbly led and provisioned trip, turned 11 strangers into a family.
    The trekking was very manageable so you acclimatized easily. The scenery was breathtaking (and not just because of the elevation).
    Each tea house provided a multicultural bonanza of challenges and humor.
    The porters were helpful, friendly, and great dancers at the last night's boogie!
    I would certainly recommend Active Adventures and their fantastic leaders D.K. and Arjun”
    Leslie Smith – Virginia, United StatesAST, December 2018
  • The Adventure of Patagonia

    “The trip was awesome, though not for the light hearted! The extremes of Patagonia - the constantly changing weather and the challenging hikes totally proved thoroughly exhausting, but exhilarating. Each day seemed better than the next! Glad I was in good shape to handle all the obstacles!”
    Kathy Whittington – Virginia, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • New Zealand Trip

    “Had a wonderful time! The food was great! Our guides Kim and Astrid were outstanding.”
    Sylvia Tang – California, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • An exciting challenge for anyone who wants to see the south island

    “We loved the Tui trip. We found it exciting with some challenges that left us exhausted at the end of the day. When we were looking for a tour, this is what we were searching for and we couldn't be happier that we found it for such a beautiful place. Our trip was fantasic and Simon and Kelsey made that happen!”
    Amy Poole – Ontario, CanadaTui, December 2018
  • The Scenery, The People, The Laughs....

    “Everything about this trip surpassed my expectations...the scenery, the guides and the other guests...
    I laughed the entire time...it was certainly one of the best trips I’ve ever taken!”
    James Silva – Massachusetts, United StatesTui, December 2018
  • Outdoor Mindbending

    “Unparalleled scenic views, experiences, adventures, all in the hands of fit, fun, funny guides. Hard to top this.”
    Mark Patterson – Montana, United StatesTui, December 2018
  • An Amazing Trip

    “My husband and I enjoyed the trip enormously. The guides were terrific - both Kelsey and Simon were attentive and encouraging, kind and sympathetic when the hills became too steep and the sandflies too aggressive. We met lovely people, with whom we’d love to stay in touch.”
    Elena Patterson – Alabama, United StatesTui, December 2018
  • Jaguar Tour

    “This was a trip of a lifetime! From biking through a beautiful valley, to hiking the Inca trail in four days, then jetting over to the Amazon. It was a whirlwind of awesome! All the while having every day stress free and preplanned. 10/10 would recommend to anyone. Can't wait for our next Active Adventure!”
    Mason Ray – Kansas, United StatesJaguar, December 2018
  • Jaguar Trip in Peru

    “We took our family of six on this amazing trip. Wilson was a perfect tour guide. He spoke very good English and catered to our every need. He was very patient answering my children's constant questions. We ate the most incredible food and saw so much of Peru. It really was the trip of a lifetime!”
    Erin Summers – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, December 2018
  • A Breathtaking, Memorable, and Fun Adventure!

    “Words alone cannot describe the amazing experience that was provided from this tour!”
    Trang Ngoc Le – California, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Great NZ South Island Adventure with Active Adventures!

    “My husband and I really enjoyed the Rimu trip. Laura and Hailey did an excellent job keeping the group happy and comfortable during the two weeks of our Rimu adventure in November 2018. There were 6 other people in the Rimu group and none of us knew each other before the trip but we enjoyed meeting new people and we all were on a good level of health and fitness needed for this active adventure. The hardest section for me was the cycling the one day for about 20 miles, but Laura and Hailey coaxed me through it and very beautiful scenery. A couple of my favorite parts of the trip were our visit to Milford Sound and Kayaking in Okarito lagoon near Franz Josef Glacier. We saw a range of birds there including some white herons, the royal spoonbill and paradise ducks!”
    Rebecca Dombcik – Washington, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Nov 13-24 Kauri Trip with Andy and Jo :)

    “wonderful trip made even better by wonderful guid and driver Andy and wonderful cook and guide Jo”
    Ken Marts – Colorado, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • An Active Family Adventure

    “Friends of ours had visited New Zealand years ago. They informed us that it was THE place to go to have an active adventure. We had dreams of hiking, whitewater, sleeping in cabins and more. When lady luck gave us the opportunity to travel to that remote destination, we searched for a simple way to fulfill those dreams. We certainly found the right spot.

    We are not, by definition, an outdoor family that goes backpacking every week-end *or any week-end*. Yet, we wanted to enjoy this type of life for a week. But, we needed a bit of help. The logistics behind putting this together was beyond our means with our busy regular life. So, we jumped and decided to go against our normal grain and book a trip with an agency.

    What we found was great. We had Astrid and Hailey as our 2 guides. Both of them were jewels in their own rights. They pushed us beyond our limits (go Oli, you CAN make it to the top of the valley). They kept us safe (always a watchful eye during river crossings). They made us laugh (Tim Tams and Slice of Heaven come to mind). They led us to discover hidden beauties (Siberia Valley was our best spot). What we found in New Zealand met the huge expectations that we had set for ourselves. The kids even forgot all their electronica for a little while. Beautiful!

    If you have the funds, this is certainly a great trip. Enjoy!”
    Robert Drolet – Aichi, JapanTui, December 2018
  • Another Great Active Adventures Trip

    “AA hit the sweet spot for me again with this trip. I had originally been looking at boat based Galapagos trips but am glad I went with AA and their land based approach. The hotels and restaurants we used added local flavor and gave me a better feel for the islands. Pablo was an amazing guide and his enthusiasm and knowledge of the islands added a lot to the experience. Great food, great fun and great people. So glad I went with Active Adventures.”
    Tim Reed – Massachusetts, United StatesTortuga, December 2018
Back to top

Trip Reviews

  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 15866 reviews)

    South Island Rimu Trip

    My South Island trip was outstanding, even with the cyclone that came ashore on the second day! The itinerary needed to be changed because of all the washed out roads to places that we were suppose to venture to. Our guides, Jackie and Carrie, came up with new plans that were great. A mark of a good company is when they can handle unexpected events, such as a cyclone, and still provide their guest with a trip of a life time. Thank you A.A. for a great and safe trip!
    Pete Orefice Review Image
    – Connecticut, United States
    Rimu, February 2018
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 15866 reviews)

    Wonderful Adventure around the South Island

    We do a lot of travelling and this was one of the best trips we have ever done. the guides - Elder and Nick - are top notch. Their attention to detail, sense of humour and advanced cooking skills made the trip. The weather made it a bit of a challenge, particularly on the west (wet) coast, but they kept our spirits up and all of us safe and sound. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who wishes to see and experience the most of what the South Island has to offer. In slightly less than 2 weeks. If you are mentally prepared for some coolish, wet weather, so much the better. This was an active trip, with many options for additional cycling and hiking, which we took advantage of - which made it all the better. Fitness helped a lot. A must do.
    Murray Beare Review Image
    – Ontario, Canada
    Weka 13-day, February 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 15866 reviews)

    Great trip with fun and knowledgable guides. Accommodations and food were great.






    David Brodie Review Image
    – Washington, United States
    Kauri, April 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 15866 reviews)

    EBC with Dan K

    I had a great time with wonderful team members, guides and porters. I will remember this trip as one of the best and treasure the memories for long, long time.
    Fusa Iwamoto Review Image
    – Massachusetts, United States
    EBC, June 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 15866 reviews)

    Rimu - NZ South Island

    Our Rimu trip with Ken and Elder was truly a trip of a lifetime. The two of them were the perfect pair to lead our adventure -kind, warm, funny, and incredibly encouraging (for those of us who weren't quite sure we'd make it up the mountain!) My husband and I were fortunate to have both of our adult boys join us which made for a very memorable experience. New Zealand's South Island offered some of the most breathtaking landscapes we had ever seen. The hiking, kayaking, and biking was challenging and exhilarating. It was hard to say goodbye to the group who became like family. We have stayed in touch with some, and look forward to our next trip with Active.
    Gigi Altaras Review Image
    – Washington, United States
    Rimu, November 2017

 previous

next 

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure
no thanks, i don't like free stuff
Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure
close