Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips.

By submitting this request, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Travel + Leisure Hiking Guide

Travel + Leisure - May 2013

TL-.jpg

Five ideas on how to explore the country's diverse terrain with Active Adventures New Zealand. Based in Queenstown, Active have been running adventure tours in New Zealand since 1996, helping thousands of visitors experience a trip of a lifetime.

1. Volcanoes, emerald-hued mineral lakes, and tufted grasslands define the Tongariro Northern Circuit, where the Lord of the Rings trilogy was filmed.

2. Thousands of rare glowworms cling to the walls of the Waitomo Caves, which you can explore by foot or by boat.

3. The 55,672-acre Abel Tasman National Park is located on the pristine South Island coast, where golden beaches, granite cliffs, and quiet estuaries are populated by tui and pukeko birds.

4. Two massive glaciers draw trekkers to the South Island's Westland National Park.

5. Carved by glaciers 20,000 years ago, the 3 million-acre Fiordland National Park is filled with snowy peaks and primeval rain forest.

Trip Reviews

  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 15866 reviews)

    Hiking in the Alps

    The trip with Active Adventures to the Mount Blanc area was great. The scenery is unbelievable in all three countries. The hikes were all wonderful and yet very demanding. That made the trip even more rewarding for us. We got to do things we never have done before on the off day. Paragliding in Chamonix was a first and fabulous. All of the small towns we travelled to were lovely. The accommodations in these towns were great. Nice small hotels that all were so much a part of those towns. All of the meals were also great. The lunches were just the right amount and much of the local food such as cheese. All of the dinners were very good.
    Our tour guides were great. Jean-Marc knows the Mount Blanc area so well. Andy was always available and helpful. Together they made the trip a pleasure.
    Harry Dickens Review Image
    – CA, United States
    Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 15866 reviews)

    Tui May 1, 2017

    Trip of a lifetime. The guides were outstanding, accommodations were excellent. Great food... we even had a picnic!
    Donna Diaz Review Image
    – Pennsylvania, United States
    Tui, May 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 15866 reviews)

    Great trip

    My experience with Active Adventures in NZ was so fun! The guides were really nice and perfect to play games with. Steve was also really nice and funny. I had such a fantastic time and I'm glad I got to go with Active Adventures.
    Marissa Schimpf Review Image
    – California, United States
    Kea, January 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 15866 reviews)

    EBC with Dan K

    I had a great time with wonderful team members, guides and porters. I will remember this trip as one of the best and treasure the memories for long, long time.
    Fusa Iwamoto Review Image
    – Massachusetts, United States
    EBC, June 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 15866 reviews)

    Best Trip Ever

    You go hiking, exert yourself, see spectacular views, and you think "this is the best day, it can't get better than this." Then you go kayaking, see wildlife, lush rain forest and red tinted water, all with the backdrop of snow capped mountains, and you think "no, this is the best day, it can't get better this. Then you go biking along a teal colored river and through a birch forest with snow capped mountains ringing a suddenly peaceful lake and you think, "okay, THIS is the best day." And then you drive to Milford Sound, gawk in awe at waterfalls tumbling down towering cliffs along the road and you get to the Sound and you kayak with dolphins, and you come to the realization, "this is my New Zealand trip, every day better than the last," so that on your last day when you are lying beneath the stars, staring at the Milky Way and the Southern Cross, you know you've experienced something beyond special.
    Tanya Karimi Review Image
    – Colorado, United States
    Rimu, March 2017

 previous

next 

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure
no thanks, i don't like free stuff
Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure
close